Art · craft room · Knitting · organization · quilting · Sewing

It’s that time…

Hello! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Today I’ve decided to discuss organization in the craft room. For weeks I’ve poured over ideas and pinned pages of tips and tricks.

  https://www.pinterest.com/Cre8tive_C/craft-and-sewing-room-ideas/

Organizing is not an easy task for me. I have too many interests that I try to shove into a 10’x 12’room!

Can anyone out there relate to this?

I set specific areas for each of my hobbies. A section of my room is for sewing, a section for knitting and one for painting. Trouble is, after one of my  creative marathons…well, ugh. Last year I made six quilts, knitted scarves and boot cuffs and paintings for Christmas gifts. When the whirlwind of December passed I was left looking at a mound of mess in January. In addition to that, those precious items that I  would buy here and there began to accumulate and before I knew it I was completely out of room.

So yeah, it’s time.

How do I purge? Very carefully! I’m cautious and take one drawer or shelf at a time. I make a decision as to whether or not I’ll use it or part with it. If I decide to part with it, I’ll think of my family or friends first. What doesn’t go to them, I’ll donate. For example, I’ve put together a large stash of yarn and crochet needles neatly in a rolling tote for my sister. She’s just learning to crochet. The fabric that no one else wanted, I’ve already donated. Senior centers, thrift stores, knitting or quilting groups are some great options.

Now I’m left with the things I do want, and it’s time to organize. My fabric was stored in totes ( many totes ) and so I’ve decided to wrap them on to mini bolts and store them in a book-case. The wrapping took quite a while, but was worth it. Now my fabric is visible to me. Same goes for my thread. I purchased a few spool holders for my wall.thumbnail_20140522_132220_resized

To control the clutter on my desk I purchased a spinning caddie. I still have more to do, but I’m making progress. I’ll keep you updated as I go. Do you have a storage idea? How do you keep your craft room organized?

I’d love to hear from you, so feel free to post your comments.

thumbnail_20140522_132233-1_resized
I’ve framed these precious paintings done by my little artist granddaughter.

 

Save

Save

10 thoughts on “It’s that time…

  1. I’ve recently done a little purging and organizing, myself! I have officially gone from sewing at the kitchen table to sewing in the laundry room – ahem – my sewing room! After 3 years in this tiny house, I finally have a sewing room, again. It feels great to be even slightly organized, doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for following my blog, I have spent the last 4 years organising my craft room and still not quite there yet! I love having large storage tubs for yarn and fabric, I have some soft fabric boxes that fit into storage units from IKEA that are great for that. One of my best purchases was a storage unit with coloured drawers for storing fat quarters. I am also enjoying buying pretty storage bit by bit and stitching and quilting bits to decorate. I am quite happy to continue with the process for as long as it takes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck on reorganizing your craft room. I like what you have done so far. Cute paintings. I think it is sweet that you framed them. I’m sure your granddaughter feels so special to have a place on your wall. I just moved into a new craft room and it is mainly for my scrapbook and stamping hobby. I had hoped to move in all of my cross stitch, knitting and crocheting supplies, but no way. Either the room is too small or I have way to much stuff. LOL

    Like

    1. I picked my curtain fabric to match her paintings…lol. She loves pink! Best of luck with your craft room too. It is so tough to make room for everything. Did I mention I have several totes in my hubby’s workshop?? Oh my!!

      Like

  4. Organization of the craft room is ALWAYS a problem for me! But my craft room closet is organized and neat as a pin! I put up shelves (nothing hanging) and bought small clear totes – about the size of a ream of paper, up to ones about 4 times that size. I put yarn and fabric in them, but by category, so I can see what is what and know what I have. For yarn, if I have a sweaters worth, it gets its own tote, otherwise it is by color. Same with fabric – quilt amounts go together in a tote, then garments get their own tote. They all get neatly stacked on the shelves. The circular needle organizer hangs on the door. It is all perfectly lovely if you can get to the closet to see it. 🙂 Paper crafting and projects in process seem to have taken over the room and cluttered it up. You are inspiring me to get in there to weed out and organize.

    Like

Leave a Reply

